GLOBE Working Groups


The purpose of the Working Groups (WGs) is to enhance the role of GLOBE U.S. and Country Partners and GLOBE Scientists and Educators in shaping the future of the GLOBE Program and supporting the development and implementation of GLOBE worldwide. 

Four GLOBE WGs have been created composed of community members.  The WGs can have up to eight members; all efforts are made to have each of the six GLOBE regions represented in the groups. The two remaining slots can be filled by At-Large members. If you believe there are topics that the groups should discuss and bring forward to the management of the Program, you should contact your regional representative. If your region does not have a representative at this time, feel free to contact the WG Chair.

IMPORTANT: Working Group members have monthly meetings via Zoom.  This requires a functioning internet connection.  Members are expected to attend at least nine of the 12 monthly meetings over the course of the year. Working Groups also meet at the annual meeting.  To be productive, functional, and representative of their region, members need to fully participate in both the online meetings and any email correspondence each year of service. While a typical term of service is one to three years, members who do not fully participate in the groups, can be asked to step down from the group. 

  Region Member Name Country Email Contact Service Years
Education (7)
  Africa Francis Wasswa N. Nsubuga Uganda nwasswa@gmail.com 2016 - 2019
  Asia and Pacific Rod Allan A. de Lara Philippines radelara@pshs.edu.ph 2019 - 2021
  Europe and Eurasia Diana Garasic Croatia diana.garasic@gmail.com 2017 - 2020
  Latin America and Caribbean Marta Kingsland Argentina programaglobe.mk@gmail.com 2019 - 2021
  Near East and North Africa Manal Alsaleh Kuwait manalaalsaleh@gmail.com 2019 -2021
Chair North America Jessica Taylor USA jessica.e.taylor@nasa.gov 2016 - 2019
At Large North America Lynne Hehr USA lhehr@uark.edu  2018 - 2020
GIO Liaison   John Ristvey   jristvey@ucar.edu  
Evaluation (7)
  Africa Ylliass Lawani Benin ylliass@gmail.com 2017 -2020
  Asia and Pacific Yogendra Chitrakar Nepal yogendra@ecca.org.np  2018 - 2020
Chair Europe and Eurasia Nektaria Adaktilou Greece nadak@phys.uoa.gr
nektaria.adaktilou@gmail.com
2014 - 2021*
  Latin America and Caribbean Andrea Ventoso Uruguay andrea.ventoso@mvotma.gub.uy 2014 - 2020*
  Near East and North Africa Hanan Al Buflasa Bahrain h.m.albuflasa@gmail.com 2019 - 2019
  North America Kevin O'Connor Canada koconnor@mtroyal.ca 2014 - 2020*
At Large Africa Lawrence Kambiwoa Cameroon LawrenceKambiwoa@hotmail.com 2017 - 2019
GIO Liaison   Megan Delaney   mdelaney@ucar.edu  
Science (7)
  Africa Olawale Ayodeji Oluwafemi Nigeria walefemi007@yahoo.com 2014 - 2020*
Chair Asia and Pacific Mullica Jaroensutasinee Thailand mullica.jn@gmail.com 2014 - 2021*
  Europe and Eurasia Constantinos Cartalis Greece ckartali@phys.uoa.gr 2017 - 2019
  Latin America and Caribbean Claudia Caro Peru claudiacarovera@gmail.com 2014 - 2020*
  Near East and North Africa Hameed Sluaiman Oman hanhameco@gmail.com  2018 - 2020
  North America Margaret Pippin USA m.pippin@nasa.gov 2016 - 2021*
At Large North America Rebecca Boger USA beckyboger@gmail.com 2019 - 2021
GIO Liaison   Amy Barfield   barfield@ucar.edu  
Technology (6)
  Africa Charles Mwangi Kenya maina.charles@gmail.com 2014 - 2020*
  Asia and Pacific Krisanadej (Kris) Jaroensutasinee Thailand krisanadej@gmail.com 2014 - 2020*
Chair Europe and Eurasia Elzbieta Woloszyńska-Wiśniewska Poland ela@gridw.pl 2016 - 2019
  Latin America and Caribbean Ana Beatriz Prieto Argentina anabeatrizprieto@gmail.com  2018 - 2020
  Near East and North Africa Ahmad Almbaidin Jordan ahmdaq@hotmail.com 2019 - 2021
  North America Allyson Edwards USA allyson.edwards356@gmail.com  2018 - 2020
At Large Europe and Eurasia Laura Altin Estonia laura.altin@gmail.com 2018 - 2020
GIO Liaison   Eslam Khair USA ekhair@ucar.edu  
  *SECOND TERM